The race is on

Two candidates file for Dillon mayor
Dillon Mayor Mike Klakken (left) and City Council President Tom Straugh (right) are set to face off in the upcoming mayoral elecition.

Only one person besides incumbents signed up for spots on the ballot for Dillon’s municipal election this year by Monday’s deadline, according to documents obtained Tuesday from the Beaverhead County Election Office.

But one of those incumbents signed up to run against another of them for the top spot in Dillon government, and one city council seat failed to attract any candidates.

City Council President Tom Straugh has registered for a spot on the ballot to run for mayor of Dillon, as has current mayor Mike Klakken, who is seeking another four-year term.

John Garry (Ward 1), Russ Schwandt (Ward 2), Bill Shafer (Ward 3) and Mandy Maass (Ward 4) all signed up to run for reelection to the seats they currently hold on the Dillon City Council.

The other Ward 4 seat, which is currently held by Jim McIsaac, is also up before voters this fall. But no one filed to get on the ballot for it, including McIsaac.

Two names will also be on the ballot for Dillon’s city judge position—incumbent Crystal Thompson and Paul Pilgrim.

The ballot in the race for Lima’s mayor will feature incumbent David Olsen and challenger Kent Craven.

James Fullard has applied to run for an unexpired two-year term on the Lima City Council.

The two four-year terms on the Lima City Council are being sought by four candidates—Judy Weekes, David Brown,Travis Wilson and Dorothy Mikula.

Anyone wishing to register to be eligible to receive votes as a write-in candidate must do so by Oct. 3 at the Beaverhead County Election Office, which is located within the Beaverhead County Clerk & Recorder’s Office in Dillon.